Data Sync Series — Part 1

Ryan Grier
2 min readMay 19, 2017

--

I’ve been thinking about incorporating a data syncing component to my app MyCntdwn for a long time now. I have just never gotten around to it. It’s always been a daunting idea.

When I first wanted to add data syncing to MyCntdwn, it was 2012 and Core Data iCloud Sync was a thing. It was also a mess. I had a few false starts using Core Data iCloud Sync. I even spent time with Apple Engineers at WWDC and still couldn’t get it working right. I eventually gave up on it. I’ve heard that Core Data and CloudKit have made things much easier to get working, but I don’t have any experience.

My first experience with data syncing in 2012 has really scared me off. I’ve thought about it from time to time, but never really committed to it.

It’s time. It’s time to finally sit down and figure out how to do this. I’m going to do things a bit different here. I could just spend the Spring/Summer figuring out how to do data sync, add it to my app and call it a day. Instead, I’m starting this series.

This series is going to be an experiment. I plan on writing a completely new app, open-sourcing it, and documenting the entire thing. This could be a huge failure. I could get three or four blog posts into the series and give up. I hope that doesn’t happen. I hope that I can follow through on this idea. It’s an ambitious project for me.

I have an idea for the project. I’m not sure which technologies I’ll use for syncing. I believe I have several options for the syncing technology, but that’s something I’ll weigh in a future blog post.

Other Posts in the Series

Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4

Originally published at ryan.grier.co on May 12, 2017.

--

--